Skip navigation

Hi my name is Q and this is my music blog.

The title of this first blog is to acknowledge the contribution of my great friend Michael Adrian to things that are musical in my life.  It was him who invited me back into the musical world in the early 2000’s and via our collaboration as No Prima Donnas with various other fine folk, some of whom I still play with today helped me to recover this important part of my life.

Mike, when he is working, is a prolific and talented songwriter.  We got together to perform at a work’s summer party and somewhere in the process acquired the No Prima Donnas tag (I think it was me who coined the phrase, he thinks it was our MD at the time Dave Roberts) whoever it was said about our sales team being thought of by some as a bunch of prima donnas …. Mike then went camping for a week and whilst there wrote the song from which this phrase is lifted.  It is available on his album but I think our version is better ….

So this is going to be a bit of rambling, a bit of news about my musical exploits and collaborations and the promotions I do as Jumping Joint and more details on some of the stuff I post on Facebook and Twitter.

Tonight I am going to be gatecrashing for the second week running the Producer Uncovered session at the Colston Hall.  It’s a course about producing music and will be the first formal qualification in music I have got since piano grade two at the age of about 13.  I remember I had a crush on the piano teacher’s teenage daughter – Rosemary Allen where are you now?

Gatecrashing because I thought I wasn’t going to be able to go due to seeing a client at that time on a Tuesday and then they stopped coming …. so I phoned up on the first day of the course and no-one was quite sure if it was full so I turned up anyway and got a computer and didn’t get thrown out.  Next day I phoned up and they said they’d let me know if enough people had dropped out to join in.  So far no word so I shall go along. 

A few good gig experience over the last few days but for today this is enough …

Love on xx

2 Comments

  1. Hi Q.

    Like the idea of the blog and will read it with avid interest. One thing I’m not sure about is the white text on a grey background, I find that quite hard to focus on. Is it possible to change?

    BelgianReader

    • thelovelyjournal
    • Posted January 25, 2012 at 10:51 am
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Keep up the music stuff bro…


Leave a comment